Bridge Street Books

 

2814 Pennsylvania Ave NW (at M St NW)
an independently owned bookstore

Upcoming Readings

There are no upcoming readings scheduled for this series.

In business for over twenty years, Bridge Street is one of a rare breed these days--a successful independent bookseller. It has what is certainly the best poetry section in Washington, well-stocked in alternative poetry and poetics as well as mainstream. Bridge Street also has extremely good selections in Philosophy, Politics, Cultural Theory, Women's Studies, Film, Music, and other areas. They also have a plethora of quality sale books. Manager (& well-known poet!) Rod Smith has been organizing readings in the Washington Area since 1988 and has brought Rae Armantrout, Charles Bernstein, Lee Ann Brown, John Cage, Kevin Davies, Lyn Hejinian, Lisa Jarnot, Alice Notley, Tom Raworth, Lisa Robertson, Leslie Scalapino, Chris Stroffolino and many other important writers to DC. 5 blocks from

Foggy Bottom Metro, next to Four Seasons in Georgetown at the end of M street
open Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 9pm
Sunday: 12pm - 6pm

Past Readings

Sunday, June 4, 6:00 pm
Mark Wallace, Suzanne Stein & Buck Downs
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, March 14, 7:30 p.m.
Colin Browne, Daphne Marlatt, Chris Nealon & Fred Wah
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, January 16, 8:00 p.m.
Alan Bernheimer & Casey Smith
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, June 1, 7:30 p.m.
Jules Boykoff book party for Power Games: The Political History of the Olympics
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 15, 7:00 p.m.
Anselm Berrigan & Jamie Perez
@ Bridge Street Books

Thursday, April 21, 7:30 p.m.
Sandra Simonds, Megan Ronan, & Tony Mancus
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, April 13, 7:30 p.m.
Lynne Dreyer & Ken Jacobs
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 3, 6:00 p.m.
Cathy Eisenhower & Mark McMorris
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, March 30, 7:30 p.m.
Charles Bernstein
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 21, 7:30 p.m.
Jasper Bernes, Joshua Clover, Chris Nealon, & Juliana Spahr
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, February 3, 7:30PM
Bill Berkson and Adam Robinson
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 4, 6:00 p.m.
Eileen Myles
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, June 14, 6:00 p.m.
Stephanie Barber, Cathy Eisenhower, & Mel Nichols
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 31, 6:00 p.m.
Corina Copp, Ben Fama, & Steve Zultanski
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 24, 6:00 p.m.
Sommer Browning, Jeff Derksen, & Chris Nealon
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 10, 6:00 p.m.
Kareem Estafan, Donato Mancini, Casey Smith, & Aaron Winslow
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, February 8, 6:00 p.m.
Laynie Browne, Pattie McCarthy & Megan Ronan
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, December 7, 7:00 p.m.
P. Inman & Doug Lang
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, September 23, 7:30pm
Elizabeth Arnold, Anthony Madrid, & Joshua Weiner
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, May 28, 8:00 pm
Brian Fitzpatrick & Mark Wallace
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, May 21, 8:00 pm
Book Party for Gertrude Stein's Tender Buttons, the City Lights Centennial Edition, with editor Seth Perlow
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, December 29, 7:00 pm
Ben Doller, Sandra Doller & Adam Marston
@ Bridge Street Books

Thursday, November 14, 8:00 pm
Bruce Andrews & P. Inman
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, July 30, 8:00 pm
Lee Ann Brown & Buck Downs
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, June 19, 8:00 pm
Doug Lang & Terence Winch
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, April 17, 8:00 pm
Charles Bernstein
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, March 31, 7:00 p.m.
Franklin Bruno & Benjamin Friedlander
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, September 30, 7:00 PM
Lisa Jarnot, a Reading and Publication Celebration for the recently published biography Robert Duncan: The Ambassador from Venus
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, May 8, 8:00PM
Barrett Watten & Ryan Walker
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, March 28, 7:30 pm
Brandon Brown, Josef Kaplan and Justin Sirois
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, March 25, 7:00 p.m.
Doug Lang & Casey Smith
@ Bridge Street Books

Thursday, October 27, 7:30 pm
Camille Martin, Mel Nichols, & Amy Wright
@ Bridge Street Books

Thursday, October 20, 7:30 pm
Shanna Compton, Susana Gardner, & Maureen Thorson
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 9, 7:00 p.m.
Anselm Berrigan
@ Bridge Street Books

Thursday, September 29, 7:30 pm
Dan Gutstein & Terence Winch
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, July 26, 7:30 pm
Corina Copp, Lewis Freedman & Ryan Walker
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, May 24, 7:30 pm
Thirteen Fugues by Jennifer Natalya Fink & The Quarry and The Lot by Mark Wallace
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, April 12, 7:30 pm
Kit Robinson
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 7, 7:00 pm
The Matter of Capital: Poetry and Crisis in the American Century
@ Bridge Street Books

Saturday, February 5, 1:00 pm
The Song Cave AWP reading
@ Bridge Street Books

Saturday, February 5, 7:00 p.m.
ROSMARIE WALDROP, COLE SWENSEN, SASHA STEENSEN, JANE SPRAGUE, ELIZABETH ROBINSON, LAURA MORIARTY, MARK MCMORRIS, EILEEN MYLES, LEE ANN BROWN, & CHARLES ALEXANDER
@ Bridge Street Books

Friday, February 4, 8:00 pm
The Four Seasons AWP Reading
@ The Four Seasons Hotel in Georgetown

Thursday, February 3, 6 pm - 8 pm
THE SELECTED POEMS OF TED BERRIGAN & THE H.D. BOOK BY ROBERT DUNCAN
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, November 22, 7:00 p.m.
Sarah Riggs & Cole Swensen
@ Bridge Street Books

Friday, November 12, 8:00 pm
Tom Raworth & Steve Zultanski
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, September 26, 7:00 p.m.
Eileen Myles & Buck Downs
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, September 20, 7:30 pm
Charles Bernstein
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 23, 7:00 p.m.
Mark Wallace & Brian Fitzpatrick
@ Bridge Street

Wednesday, January 6, 7:30 pm
William R. Howe, L.A. Howe & Michael Basinski
@ Bridge Street Books

Tuesday, December 15, 7:30 p.m.
K. Silem Mohammad, Lacey Hunter, Ken Jacobs
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, December 9, 7:30 pm
Jennifer Scappettone & Ryan Walker
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, November 23, 7:00 p.m.
Anselm Berrigan & Michael Gizzi
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, November 2, 7:30 pm
Kenneth Goldsmith
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 4, 7:00 p.m.
Eileen Myles & Hoa Nguyen
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, September 13, 7:00 p.m.
A Book party and reading for American Hybrid: A Norton Anthology of New Poetry featuring Mark McMorris, Rod Smith, Cole Swensen, & John Taggart
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, June 14, 7:00 p.m.
Bill Berkson
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, June 10, 8:00pm
Buck Downs & Joe Ross
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, June 7, 7:00 p.m.
Diane Ward & Jane Sprague
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 10, 7:00 p.m.
Ben Lerner & Chris Nealon
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 26, 7:00 p.m.
Lynne Dreyer & P. Inman
@ Bridge Street Books

Saturday, April 18, 8:00pm
Rae Armantrout & Mel Nichols
@ Bridge Street Books

Saturday, April 11, 8:00pm
Tina Darragh & Aaron Kunin
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 23, 7:00 p.m.
Mark Cunningham, Anne Gorrick, and Maryrose Larkin
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, January 12, 7:00 p.m.
Cole Swensen, Leslie Scalapino & Laura Walker
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, September 28, 7:00 p.m.
Dina Gatina, Gennady Kanevsky, Ilya Kukulin, and Nikolai Zvyagintsev
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, July 20, 7:00 p.m.
6 POETS AT BRIDGE STREET
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 6, 7:00 p.m.
Evgeny Bunimovich, Elena Fanailova, & Yuli Gugolev
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 31, 7:00 p.m.
Christina Strong & Mark Wallace
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, March 26, 7:30 pm
Noah Eli Gordon & Joshua Marie Wilkinson
@ Bridge Street Books

Saturday, February 9, 8:00 p.m.
Jules Boykoff, book party for BEYOND BULLETS: THE SUPPRESSION OF DISSENT IN THE UNITED STATES
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, February 4, 7:00 p.m.
Lisa Jarnot and Eileen Myles
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, September 23, 7:00 p.m.
Rae Armantrout, Ben Doyle & Sandra Miller
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 27, 7:00 p.m.
Ron Silliman and Tom Mandel
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 22, 7:00 p.m.
Rachel Blau DuPlessis and Bob Perelman
@ Bridge Street Books

Friday, April 6, 7:00 p.m.
Peter Gizzi
@ Bridge Street Books

Friday, March 9, 7:00 p.m.
Tom Raworth and Doug Lang
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, November 20, 7:00 p.m.
Charles Bernstein
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, November 6, 7:00 p.m.
Ron Padgett and Amy King
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, October 30, 7:00 p.m.
Terence Winch and Geoffrey Young
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 8, 7:00 p.m.
Michael Friedman and Tom Orange
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, June 11, 7:00 p.m.
Mel Nichols and Leslie Scalapino
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, June 4, 7:00 p.m.
Mark Wallace and Karen Weiser
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, June 4, 7:00 p.m.
Mark Wallace & Christina Strong
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 14, 7:00 p.m.
Joshua Clover & TBA
@

Sunday, May 14, 7:00 p.m.
Joshua Clover and Heather Fuller
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 23, 7:00 p.m.
Emmanuel Hocquard with translations read by Cole Swensen and Rod Smith
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 23, 7:00 p.m.
Emmanuel Hocquard<br>with translations read by Cole Swensen and Rod Smith
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 2, 7:00 p.m.
Keith & Rosmarie Waldrop
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 2, 7:00 p.m.
Keith and Rosmarie Waldrop
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 6, 7:00 p.m.
Tim Davis & Ben Friedlander
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 6, 7:00 p.m.
Tim Davis and Ben Friedlander
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, December 4, 7:00 p.m.
Tina Darragh and P. Inman
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 9, 7:00 p.m.
Doug Lang and Tom Raworth
@

Sunday, April 24, 7:00 p.m.
Dan Gutstein & Eric Pankey
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 10, 7:00 p.m.
Lisa Jarnot & Thomas Evans
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, December 13, 7:00 p.m.
Anselm Berrigan and Tom Orange
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, November 8, 7:00 p.m.
Jean Donnelly and Mark Wallace
@ Bridge Street Books

Wednesday, September 22, 7:00 p.m.
Charles Bernstein
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, May 2, 7:00 p.m.
Jules Boykoff and Noah Eli Gordon
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, April 11, 7:00 p.m.
Cole Swensen and Pattie McCarthy
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 29, 7:00 p.m.
Allison Cobb and Sue Landers
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, March 1, 7:00 p.m.
Kaia Sand and Mark Wallace
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, February 24, 7:00 p.m.
Tom Raworth
@ Bridge Street Books

Monday, December 9, 7:00 p.m.
Pattie McCarthy and Leslie Scalapino
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 20, 7:00 p.m.
Jen Hofer and Chris Nealon
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, October 6, 7:00 p.m.
Lorraine Graham, Tom Orange and Jessica Smith
@ Bridge Street Books

Sunday, September 22, 7:00 p.m.
Anselm Berrigan and Jean Donnelly
@ Bridge Street Books